Raspberry Shake Naming Convention

In seismology, seismic stations are named using the following four-part convention which was designed to communicate as much information as possible about the station while simultaneously ensuring uniqueness:




In order to ensure world-wide consumption of the Raspberry Shake data by the broader seismic and infrasound communities, Raspberry Shake uses the AM NetworkCode (see also: FDSN Network Information for AM ). The AM network is a citizen scientist earthquake monitoring network operated by Raspberry Shake, S.A. It was originally the “Public Seismic Network” and was established for hobbyists back in 2012. At the time Raspberry Shake was born, there were no real-time systems available under the “AM” network, so ownership of the network code passed to the Raspberry Shake Project.

The StationCode is generated automatically by using the last 4 digits of the Raspberry Pi computer’s unique hardware address (commonly referred to as the “MAC” address) and appending them to the letter “R”. In the rest of seismology, you must apply to the International Registry of Seismograph Stations for StationCode approval. This is to ensure uniqueness of the name. But, as mentioned above, at the time Raspberry Shake was born, there were NO real-time systems available so no stations to have station naming conflicts with. In an attempt to make this all automagic, we set up our own naming convention using the MAC address.


How many station name combinations are possible? Since our algorithm rotates throught alphabet on the first character when the last four characters happen to clash between units, we have the following number of possible station names before a collision can occur: 26 * 16 * 16 * 16 * 16 = 1,703,936. That’s a LOT!

LocationCode has been set to 00.

ComponentCode is either:

  • SHZ for the RS1D V4/V5; or
  • EH[Z,N,E] for the RS1D V6+, RS3D, RS&BOOM and RJAM
  • EHZ, EN[Z,N,E] for the RS4D
  • HDF for the RBOOM and RS&BOOM infrasound channels

SHZ communicates to end users that the RS1D is a 50 sample per second (S), high gain (H), single-channel vertical (Z) seismograph (Note that all new versions of the RS1D come as 100 sps units).

EHZ communicates to end users that the RS1D, RS3D, RS4D and RS&BOOM are a 100 sample per second (E), high gain (H), single-channel vertical (Z) seismographs.

EH[Z,N,E] communicates that the RS3D or RJAM are a 100 sample per second (E), high gain (H), 3-component seismographs (Z,N,E).

EHZ,EN[Z,N,E] communicates that the RS4D is a 100 sample per second (E), high gain (H), single-component seismograph (Z) with 3 orthogonal channels of acceleration: EN[Z,N,E].

HDF communicates to end users that the RBOOM/ RS&BOOM is a 100 sample per second (H), microbarometer (D), infrasound (F) monitor.

It is currently not possible to edit the NetworkCode, StationCode, LocationCode, ComponentCode manually. Support for this functionality was not built in to the Raspberry Shake solution from the beginning because it goes against the Raspberry Shake’s “plug-and-play” instrument design philosophy.

The station naming convention employed here is respects the FDSN’s SEED guidlines.